Creative Lettering Workshop

I have just completed a month’s kourse (sic) on Creative Lettering at Sketchbook Skool taught by Andrea Joseph.  It was enormous fun and I learned a lot of new skills, which I can now develop further through practice. Here is some of my work from the kourse. 

Fitting words into complex shapes. I used the nutrients found in apples and pears to create the form of the fruit. The words near the base of the pear need to follow a deeper curve to better indicate the contours of the fruit. 

Using stationary tools as stencils to create a word. Were I to repeat this exercise, I would  find a way to write a lower case “e” for better rhythm. 

Using different fonts to create a text.  I was surprised how quickly I got the “feel” of a font. The quotation is from an article by Jeannette Winterson entitled “Books, the Universe and Everything” published in a now defunct journal ” Books and Company” (Summer 2000).

Fitting a word / words into a template. This was an initial attempt at using a ballpoint for hatching. I intend to work on this…


Visual puns…



Lettering with highlighters and fluorescent pens.  I also used a metallic liner and black glitter.

We tried our hand at graffiti. There are probably hundreds of graffiti fonts out there.  I was not a fan of graffiti before the course but am much more appreciative of the skills involved now.  I just wish graffiti writers would confine their skills to legitimate surfaces…

We played around with letter stencils, which can be manipulated to create more individual lettering. I will look for some larger letter stencils to explore this further. 

We looked at some different ways to create outlines. Using a self-coloured outline creates a very clean line, as the black lettering below shows. 


We tried out some different ways to create embellishments on our lettering including twirls and lines. 

We used continuous writing to create an illustration.  Were I to draw this again, I would draw the spaghetti a little more fluidy / “loopily”.

And we used continuous / one line writing to create a text. 

I also had a page in my sketchbook on which I had used up some old paint and I used this for a ground for continuous writing.  This was my first attempt and the letters were not of a consistent size at first.  The quotations come from Eliot’s Four Quartets which I was re-reading at the time. 

Leave a Reply

