Life drawing focus: fineliner drawings

This week I had to abandon plans made ahead of life class because I picked up the wrong bike bag in the hall on the way out to class and arrived with my school stuff!  My tutor generously offered me three sheets of good A2 cartridge paper and I found a fine liner and biro in my bag.  I didn’t like the biro much as a drawing tool and the fineliner nib is quite delicate and does not lend itself to large sweeping movements; therefore, I drew on a fairly small scale.  As with recent classes, I began each drawing with a gesture drawing. 

I have since cut up the sheets and pasted them into the A4 sketchbook that I have been using for these classes. I placed gesture drawings with the subsequent drawing(s) made of each pose, on the same page where scale made this possible.  I photographed two of the sheets (the first already cut up before I thought of this) to give a better sense of the original scale of the drawings on their sheets of A2: 

081220121581

 

081220121582

 

Here are the drawings in more detail.  The centre of gravity in the gesture is incorrect – the model appears to be toppling.  The trunk is too long in the centre drawing and the model’s breasts should not appear at the same level.  The proportions, perspective and centre of gravity in the drawing on the right are better.  The three were drawn in 15-20 minutes. 

I chopped the model’s foot off in the scanner – she is wholly on the page in the sketchbook!

Img265

 

I like the drawings below: the gesture, although not as fluid as it could be, captured something of the stance of the model in about 20 seconds and the drawing which followed conveys a sense of the model’s own presence. 

Img266

 

I found this pose very challenging: the model’s upper body is leaning forward and at an angle over her knee.  She is putting on a stocking.  She is also wearing a bead necklace which is floating in the air in front of and to the (viewer’s) left of her breasts.  One arm and the thigh of the other leg are foreshortened. I wasn’t satisfied with any of the drawings. Looking at them again now, I think that it would have been better to focus on the negative space between arm, trunk and leg in order to help place the head and shoulders correctly. 

Img267

 

The drawings below of the same pose took about 8 minutes. Another difficult pose, I tried to focus on shapes and proportions. 

Img268

 

 

Img269

 

The pose below took about 15 minutes.  It was difficult to find the correct angle of the model’s back and shoulders, in relation to her head.  The angle in the gesture drawing was not correct – I didn’t spend enough time looking before drawing.  The second drawing is better although her elbow appears too bony and I am not certain about the position of her head.  Her head was drawn too small and I tried to adjust it so that she now appears to be wearing a halo…

Img270

 

Another slightly foreshortened image drawn at an angle.  This was also quite a difficult pose, at least partly because it is not encountered every day.  I have drawn her head too small and her shoulders should be wider as these are closest to the viewer. 

Img271

 

I am quite pleased with the proportions of this drawing but the pose seems a bit awkward whereas the model was actually very relaxed.  The curve of her spine as drawn is too much for a comfortable pose.  

Img272

 

For this final pose, I decided to try a continuous contour drawing and then to modify and develop it.   I’m not sure about the centre of gravity – maybe it works (it is similar in both drawings). Her legs are too long. The position of the umbrella also seems incorrect. I like the energy of the gesture drawing, even if this time her legs are too short!  

Img273

 

Leave a Reply

