Using Colour 2…. exploring composition

One of the things that I need to address after the first assignment is the relationship between the composition and the format, and to recognise that the format is an integral part of the composition. In this exercise, I continued by considering several compositions in horizontal and vertical formats which would zoom in on the fruit and vegetables and bring some of their edges to the format, such that they no longer completely lay within it. Of the four possibilities drawn roughly in my sketchbook, I chose the last. I have used a small pumpkin, a clementine, an apple, a pomegranate, cut open, and a sprig of rowan berries for this drawing. I drew with Caran d’Ache Neocolor 2 crayons. These are waxy, similar to oil pastels when applied, but are also water-soluble. I used them dry in this drawing. I found them excellent for swift, broad strokes of colour. They are one of my favourite drawing media.

Sketchbook thumbnails
Mixed fruit close-up

My verdict: this drawing has much more energy than the first drawing in this exercise, with the Inktense pencils due to the way in which the objects fill the frame, which seems almost too small to hold them, as well as the brighter colours. It was a much faster drawing, which shows in the nature of the marks. I also greatly enjoyed drawing it.

As with the previous drawings, I was sitting slightly above the objects as I drew. Although the pumpkin is by far the largest object, by placing it at the back, it does not appear too dominant and its orange stripes are balanced by the clementine at the front. The shadow on the underside of the pumpkin could be darker, which would help it to recede further. I have tried to use blue outlines in places, as Cézanne did in his still life paintings, in order to bring the fruit placed at the front forward. This works to some degree with the clementine, I think, but the outlines and shadows that I have used lack boldness on the whole. Also, I drew the pomegranate rather too rapidly to include much detail and the seeds appear more uniform than they actually are. I took the pomegranate further in the next drawing, which focuses more on detail.

Leave a Reply

