Line drawing detail… the inner life of veggies

The post below has been edited to include a couple of scanned images as the reproductive quality of the original photographs was poor.  I do not have time to replace all of them.  

I am not sure that I did these tasks in the order in which they are laid out in the course materials. I will rephrase that…. I didn’t do them in the right order. This is mainly because I got hooked on pumpkins and squashes which I bought primarily for tonal drawings and then for supper….. and I was not sure how long they would keep; the Bischofsmütze – or bishop’s hat pumpkin – started to go mouldy and so had to be drawn quickly and then thrown away. This one lent itself well to line drawings because of its exquisite markings, as well as its lumps and bumps. I photographed this pumpkin from many angles and intend to use parts of the photographs in a collage as I further explore line and different media – so my pumpkin affair is ongoing. Below are some line drawings of the bishop’s hat and another nameless pumpkin that I found in a supermarket sadly only bearing the label “suitable for the microwave”…. I applied tone and colour to some of these, too, because I could not resist trying to capture their autumnal glow.

A page of pumpkins

I took a separate photograph of the line drawings to focus on the beautiful topography of the bishop’s hat, which remind me of a mountain range.

Bischofsmütze (Bishop’s hat pumpkin)

Before throwing the pumpkin away – it was becoming mouldy – I cut it in two and drew it from the inside.  Although this started out as a line drawing – I added small areas of tonal wash to better convey the raggedy appearance of the flesh which did not cut through cleanly.

Bischofsmütze in cross-section

I extended this exercise by drawing a fennel bulb. Fennel has delicate fronds growing from its stalks and initially, I resisted trying to draw this as I was not sure where to begin and it also could complicate the simple drawing of the fennel bulb. I then tried to approach the foliage by focusing on small negative spaces between the fronds. The drawing that resulted is not botanically accurate but has a certain rhythm:

img462

I completed the fennel drawings with a cross-section; also some mushrooms. Fennel has layers, like an onion, and these fold in on themselves, which I have tried to show in my drawing.  The mushrooms were fun to draw because they are relatively simple and can be quite quickly drawn from many different angles.

Cross-section of fennel bulb, and mushrooms

Finally, I drew a globe artichoke flower because I came across it in the supermarket and it was too beautiful to pass by… However, this is not a line drawing although, once again, it started out that way. I added a wash to bring some depth into the flower and “lift” it from the leaves on which it was resting.  I may have overdone this….  I then drew two artichoke flowers in a vase. This also began life as a line drawing but then I added hatching. A finer pen was used for the second drawing, which created a delicacy in the drawing which is absent from the first one. It is the better drawing, although the angle of the left-hand stalk doesn’t seem quite right.

img459

Leave a Reply

